The deadline to apply for the 2018 Alfred M. Wellner, PhD, Lifetime Achievement Award has passed. The application period for 2019 awards will begin in January. 

This award is named in honor of the National Register's first Executive Officer, Alfred M. Wellner, PhD. This is the highest honor bestowed on a Registrant by the National Register to commemorate numerous and significant contributions to psychology during a distinguished career. The recipient receives a plaque and an award citation in the Journal of Health Service Psychology.

To Apply

To apply for this award, you must be currently credentialed by the National Register of Health Service Psychologists, have more than 10 years of postdoctoral experience, and submit the Alfred M. Wellner, PhD, Lifetime Achievement Award application form.

The National Register Awards Committee is interested in outstanding achievement in areas such as:

  • Jurisdictional or federal advocacy
  • Teaching and/or training psychology students
  • Ethics and standards for psychological practice
  • Design of a psychology based program

Previous Award Winners

Jeffrey E. Barnett, PsyD, ABPP, 2017

Beth N. Rom-Rymer, PhD, 2016

John D. Robinson, EdD, ABPP, 2016

John C. Norcross, PhD, 2014

Roger P. Greenberg, PhD, 2013

Deborah Warner, PhD, 2013

Mark D. Cunningham, PhD, 2012

William N. Robiner, PhD, 2012

David W. Johnson, EdD, 2011

Thomas R. Kratochwill, PhD, 2011

Beverly E. Thorn, PhD, 2010

John C. Linton, PhD, 2009

Robert Klepac, PhD, 2008

Asher R. Pacht, PhD, 2007

Melba J.T. Vasquez, PhD, 2007

David J. Drum, PhD, 2006

Paula Hartman-Stein, PhD, 2006

Gayle O'Callaghan, PsyD, 2006

George Stricker, PhD, 2005

Sonya A. Adamo, PsyD, 2005

Cynthia Belar, PhD, 2005

Maie Kreegipuu, MSc

Sherry Lynne Hamby, PhD

Maureen Therese Hannah, PhD

Larry C. James, PhD

School Psychology Program at the University of Wisconsin at Madison

Milton F. Shore, PhD

Carl N. Zimet, PhD

Peter E. Nathan, PhD

Rachel Hare-Mustin, PhD

Paula Altman Fuld, PhD